A BIZARRE NEW YEAR RESOLUTION (POEM)


©attractionmarketingconsulting.com

©attractionmarketingconsulting.com

Sitting in a tree’s shade; holding a fruit in hand

It is the last day in the year and a resolution is made:

“Before the clock strikes midnight tonight

May I fall from the tree of life like you have

May I be detached from this world of sorrows

                                                                                       May this cycle of pain be truncated

………………………………………………………………………………………….

I resolve not to live in this New Year

For the past eight have all brought me immense pain

My past hopes have turned sour

With each passing year, the hole in my heart has grown wider

This is my journey’s end

And it will mark the end of my pains

…………………………………………………………………………………………..

I am ready: I can’t fail the fifth time

Last year, it was the church bell that stopped me

In 2009 it was the silly cat spilling the poison

The end of 2008 saw me in coma in the hospital bed

And in 2007, my courage failed me at the final moment

This is the last day of 2011; this time it must happen

……………………………………………………………………………………………..

I know millions are resolving to build mansions

I know thousands are resolving to make millions

The woman next door is planning to buy another car

And her son aims at making the top notch in class

I wish them well and hope they realize them

But here I am, unable to close a hole in my tiny heart

………………………………………………………………………………………………..

So it must end; yes I can’t bear it any longer

Never again will I endure 365 days of pain

So dear fruit you’ll be my tongue’s last

Then together we shall find a resting place: rejected by the world”

I stand up ready for the noose; and who do I see

Here comes the town crier: and the deal is over

Written By: Dennis Penu

dennispenu@yahoo.co.uk

7 thoughts on “A BIZARRE NEW YEAR RESOLUTION (POEM)

Leave a Reply

